Another one I’m making myself because I need just the right variation for my family and I! I learnt how to make a general cream sauce today on the food network channel so I’m going to incorporate that into my sausage and pasta because I get sick of red sauce and my hubby informed me the other day he doesn’t like spinach or escarole in pasta dishes (major bummer for me!!) To see this dish made step by step please Click Here!

Ingredients:
This serves 2-3 People

1 Pkg. of Italian Chicken Sausage (I buy thin n trim because it’s super low in everything!)
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black or white pepper
1 cups milk
3/4 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
8 Oz of Smart Taste Pasta (whatever kind you prefer)
6 Oz of frozen Broccoli Florets (thawed)
Salt & Red Pepper to taste

Directions:
Cook your pasta according to directions.
While that is cooking break apart your sausage, the kind I buy doesn’t have casings so I start by cutting it up, mincing it, then throwing it in the frying pan and continuing to pull it apart as much as I can, if you buy the kind that has casings, remove the casings first then proceed with my directions.
Meanwhile while that is cooking, microwave your broccoli, but cut the time in half, add the broccoli to the sausage mix (add a little more oil, salt and red pepper at this time) Saute a little longer.
Also, in a small sauce pan melt butter; remove from heat. Stir in flour and seasonings. Gradually add milk, stirring until well mixed. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until thickened and smooth. Cook for 5 minutes longer; add cheese. Stir until smooth and well blended.
Drain your pasta and add to a serving bowl, add your sausage & veggie to the pasta and stir the cheese sauce over it and mix well. Serve!

