I followed the recipe to a T however I added more broth and lessened the onions because I only wanted to make 2-3 servings, my servings are large because I serve mine with a caesar salad and that’s our dinner this could have made 3 small bowls. So use your judgement because every time I’ve made french onion soup I’ve never had enough broth so I usually almost double mine, so here is my adjusted recipe, and I can tell you it was by the fat the best one I’ve made, and the fact that it was in the crock and made my house smell amazing all day, just made it worth it!!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Large onions, thinly sliced and halved
  • 2 Tbsp. light margarine
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme leaves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 16 oz of fat free beef broth
  • 16 oz of fat free chicken broth
  • 2 slices of provolone 2%
  • 2 slices of wheat french bread
  • Cooking Spray
  • Few sprinkles of parmesan cheese

Preparation:

In 3-4 quart crockpot, combine onions, margarine, olive oil, and sugar. Cover crockpot and cook onions on high heat for 40 minutes or until onions begin to brown around the edges. Stir thoroughly.Sprinkle flour, salt, and pepper over the onions; mix well. Let cook for 15 minutes longer on high. Then add thyme, bay leaf, and beef broth and stir again. Cover crockpot and cook on LOW for 7-8 hours until onions are tender. Remove bay leaf. Preheat oven to 350F.Put bread on a baking sheet and spray with cooking spray (both sides) sprinkle the parmesan cheese on top and broil for 5 min (or until cheese is almost melted). Put the crocks on the same cooking sheet and place 1 pc of bread in each crock and lay a piece of provolone on each piece and broil for another 5 min. Let stand for 5 min and serve!