Let me tell you about these cookies!! WOW….I was pretty skeptical one because I can never bake anything to “exactly” the way it’s supposed to, I just stink at it, end of story. But I’m thinking how can I mess up cookies?? But then again I mess up cookies when they come out of a package that your supposed to just slice and cook, but anyways I didn’t mess these up and they were sooo good! I got this recipe from The Smart Cookie Cook. (Another blog I follow) as I was making this dough I was doubting myself because it wasn’t looking the way I thought it should, then I thought maybe I shouldn’t have used the wheat flour or the light brown sugar (it was all I had in the house) but believe it or not they turned out awesome. Here are a few pointers to making these cookies the best!

  • Use parchment paper, so much easier!
  • If using the chunky chocolate I bought a large hersey bar and cut up chunks.
  • Eat them while warm! If not warm them up in the micro for a few seconds because it soooooooooo makes the difference!!

Makes about 10 large cookies.
Ingredients:

  • 2 cups plus 2 tablespoons (10 5/8 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour (I used Wheat here)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
  • 1 cup packed (7 ounces) dark brown sugar (I used light brown sugar here)
  • 1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chunks(for chocolate lover’s) OR 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips(for traditional)
  • 1/2 cup additional semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Adjust the oven racks to the upper- and lower-middle positions and heat the oven to 325 degrees. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.

3. Either by hand or with an electric mixer, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients while beating at low speed just until combined. Stir in the chips and chunks to taste. Chill the dough in the fridge for at least an hour before continuing.

4. Roll a scant 1/4 cup of the dough into a ball. (Her recipe called for 18 large cookies, I got 10 large ones.

5. Place the formed dough balls on the prepared baking sheets, spacing them 2 1/2 inches apart. If you have time in between forming cookies while other cookies are baking, put the dough back in the fridge so it stays cool.

6. Bake until the cookies are light golden brown and the outer edges start to harden yet the centers are still soft and puffy, 15 to 18 minutes [checking after 10 min]. Cool the cookies on the sheet for one minute. Transfer the cookies from the baking sheets to a cooling rack with a spatula. Enjoy fellow cookie monsters!