I got this recipe off of a fellow blogger that actually did the Crock Challenge for a whole year! YES EVERYDAY she cooked dinner for her family in her Crock….WOW I orginally thought that was insane but the more I think about it the more I think what a great idea and how easy! LOL…but I’ll start with the 10 Day for now!!🙂 Now with this recipe you can really use whatever veggies you like, these are all my favorite veggies because I love Spring/Summer veggies like Zucchini! You can also use the frozen stir fry mix they sell in the frozen veggie section, I use them alot but this time I’m going FRESH!! FRESH!! FRESH!! I also suggest putting the Zucchini and Squash in half way through cooking if your home, it does depend on how you like your veggies cooked, I like my peppers really soft but I don’t like my Zucchini and Squash to the point where they fall apart when you use your fork so I’m going to add mine in half way through. Then I think I’ll serve it over brown rice because my hubby likes brown rice and I think the sauce that’s left over from the crock will be good to poor over it!! This is also a Gluten Free Dinner.

Ingredients:

4-6 boneless skinless frozen chicken thighs
1 whole head of garlic
2 zucchinis
2 yellow squash
1 orange bell pepper
1 yellow bell pepper
1 red onion
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
Salt and pepper

The Directions:

Salt and pepper your chicken pieces and put the chicken into the crock. Wash and cut all your vegetables and put into a mixing bowl. Peel the head of garlic, but keep the cloves intact, toss the vegetables with balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce. Pour the vegetables on top of the meat. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Again my crock happens to cook very fast so I’m going to cook mine on the 6 hour side.

THE VERDICT IS IN:

Ok so the first thing I did differently was the veggies, I could have sworn I had peppers in my fridge but didn’t, so it was just the zucchini, summer squash and onion, I don’t think that really matters, my aunt is going to do this meal tomorrow and she’s using different veggies too, to me it’s all about the Balsamic!!! My hubby loved the chicken (I used chicken tenders) I think it would have been awesome if I did do the chicken thighs, so I’m curious to see what my aunt’s review is! My hubby isn’t a plain guy, he didn’t like the plain egg noodles, I did, however if their was more sauce in the pot you could use that over the noodles, their wasn’t much left, put I did get a few spoonfills for him. He also didn’t like the veggies marinated in the Balsamic, which just proves everyone’s taste is different because I loved it like that!!!! I thought it was very tasty! I put it in at noon and I believe it was ready at 330 so watch your time depending on what kind of chicken and veggies you use. Aunty I suggest if your using frozen veggies to put them in at the end because they might over cook…….just a thought. My hubby did eat it all and his review was a 6 out of 10.  Here are my pics!