I made this a few years ago for friends, my husband and girl friend liked it very much, as did I of course. I’d like to get my grandmothers recipe some day because she made TO DIE for Chowder. I do know she put in pieces of bacon in hers, not the healthiest but hey she was french! This is a healthier version. I chopped the potatoes and carrots very small. Someday when I don’t care how I’m eatting, I’m going to add fresh bacon bits to it like my gram used to🙂

Ingredients:

  • ½ Cup chopped carrots
  • 1 Cup skim milk
  • 1 1/2 Cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/8 tsp white pepper (or more to taste)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 potato, peeled and cubed
  • ½ lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 in pcs.
  • 2 1/2 (15oz) cans creamed corn
  • 1 cup dried potato flakes (I found I needed more of this when I made it)
  • ½ Cup grated parmesan cheese

Preparation:

Combine all ingredients except dried potato flakes and cheese into a slow cooker.

Cover and cook on low for 5-6 hours.

Add potato flakes and stir well to combine.

Cook mixture on high uncovered for 5-10 min or until thickened and dried potato flakes have dissolved.

Top each serving with cheese.