This recipe was a Featured Friday meal!! The recipe was adapted by Kayle over at www.cookingactress.blogspot.com. I highly recommend this one!!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 5-7 chicken breasts (I used 6 chicken cutlets)
  • 2 cups marinara sauce
  • 1/8 cup chopped basil
  • 4 oz. (1/2 cup) Parmesan, grated 
  • 8 oz. (1 cup) mozzarella, shredded
  • 1 (5 oz.) package of garlic croutons.

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a 9 x 13 dish, spread oil and garlic around to coat the bottom. I used my Pampered Chef Casserole dish, I don’t bring this baby out often, but lately, it’s making a regular appearance and I LOVE IT!! It’s beautious! Heck I should use it more I paid $60 for this beautiful looking dish! I also confess that I used alot of garlic, what can I say I love it! My hubby, not so much but he never said anything!

Lay chicken breasts in dish. Pour tomato sauce over chicken and spread it over evenly.

Sprinkle herbs, I also added a can of diced tomatoes at this point, it adds to the basil & oregano and all that goodness because it’s seasoned!

Add 1/2 the cheeses over the dish. Spread croutons evenly over the cheese.

Sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top and bake for 35 minutes. Look at that cheesiness!!!

I contemplated serving it with pasta because well, it’s chicken parmesan! It’s actually even better than chicken parm! Then I thought of the added calories and decided to go with broccoli, I’m glad I did because the cheese and croutons were filling enough with the chicken and broccoli!

I also had to confess to Kayle that my husband gobbled this up as leftovers one night while I was out with my mom. I asked him how it was leftover and he said just as good!!!! LOL He is the leftover king afterall.