Can you tell I’m on an Asparagus kick!! Well this recipe is adapted from one I found in my Tasteful Treasures Cookbook, sorry I couldn’t wait until Tuesday to share it with you because I had leftover ham I wanted to use up! I changed some things around though………their is a secret at the end of this recipe that will teach you how to make it 10 times faster!! No cheating!! Read it all!

Ingredients:

5 Spears of Asparagus
1/4 Cup of water
1/2 pound of low-fat ham, coarsely chopped (I used leftover ham from earlier this week)
3/4 tsp. of salt
1/2 tsp. of pepper
1/2 tsp. of thyme
3 large baking potatoes, peeled & sliced thinly
2/3 Cup of all-purpose flour
3 tbsp. of bread crumbs (I used italian seasoning)

What To Do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat a 2 quart casserole dish with cooking spray. Dice your asparagus and ham.

Place flour in the casserole dish. Gradually whisk in milk until it’s smooth.  Add thyme, salt and pepper. Pour in sliced potatoes. Mix evenly.

Place ham and asparagus in the dish, mix evenly. (can even add a little shredded cheese to cheese it up!!)

Bake uncovered for 30 minutes. Add bread crumbs on top and bake for another 15 mintues.

Instant casserole!!! YUM!!!

Want to know my secret…………….you sure??? May ruin it for you?? But sure made my life easier on a busy hectic week night!! Wait for it…………….Wait for it……………

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yup you guessed it!! The boxed kind! Usually what this momma is totally against!! I like to make it healthy from scratch, however the nutritional value wasn’t all that bad and I ate a small portion of it. (hubby and I are trying to limit our portion sizes!!) So all I did was make it exactly the way it called for on the box however I added the ham and asparagus into it when I added the “fake” potatoes! LOL! No slicing potatoes, no fuss!! Your first clue should have been…..”why is her milk in the above picture yellow??” LOL!!  I literally put it together in 10 minutes and cooked it according to the packaged directions!! So their………….now you see even this momma cheats LOL!!  Hubby worked late and I wanted to wait for him for dinner so I was able to whip this up while MM ate her leftover ham!!